It’s….Wednesday

Here are some fun facts I learned recently:

One week’s worth of The New York Times (not sure how this compares with WSJ, or other newspapers), is equal to more information than someone in the 18th century would have been exposed to, in his/her entire life.

The average human being lives off of about $1,200 a year.

I thought I had more…anyway, some things I did this week were:

1. Started using the weight room

2. Stayed up to date with the Presidential race (and Obama’s pack of lies State of the Union speech), as well as lots of other news.

3. Read “A Streetcar Named Desire” which I had never heard of, and I actually liked it.

4. Drew an abstract picture using only curved lines (they look like “whirlpools”).

5. Wrote a 3 page play in which a guy who’s escaped from the Soviet Union (at least that’s what I think people would assume) decides to go back home after a taste* of “freedom”.

6. Watched A Funny Thing Happened on  the Way to the Forum, which was clever at times, but mostly just boring.

7. I learned about feminist re-interpretations of the Bible. And more importantly, how one’s complex intellectual viewpoints come from basic desires or personal habits.

8. I looked at some pictures of art and stuff…from like history and stuff. and our LAME professor made us recite “art really matters” a bunch of times I guess…**

9. I glued moss to a person using latex. It was for a friend’s film, in which there are apparently “tree-people” (not ents, I checked), and the plot has something to do with a chain hanging from the guy’s heart, attached to which there used to be a key (I try not to end sentences with prepositions, but I feel like that would have been useful there. Thoughts?). It represents something about broken family ties, if I remember correctly.

10. Yay Patriots.

I didn’t have German school on Saturday, because it was a snow day. I won’t have it this Saturday either, because I have a retreat.

*This is actually a clever pun because during the play he devours a lot of food.

**Yes, I’m being satirical. Our professor gave us his “introduction” into Art History, in which he demonstrates that contemporary Western culture values what is fake and transient rather than those things that have intrinsic value. He also demonstrated how stories and history behind works of art are often what makes them fascinating.

Leave a Reply

